Three Initiates in Phi Kappa Phi

Three Initiates in Phi Kappa Phi

Phi Kappa Phi

Three residents of Northwest Arkansas were recently initiated into the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, the oldest and most selective, all-disciplinary collegiate honor society in the country.

Stephanie Hubert of Bella Vista was initiated at Iowa State University.

Crystal Williams from Fayetteville enrolled at Oklahoma State University.

And Melissa Woods of Fayetteville was initiated at the University of Maryland Global Campus.

They are among the approximately 25,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni who are initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897.


Southeast Missouri

Students at Southeast Missouri State University at Cape Girardeau, including Fayetteville’s Bethany Draper, were recently honored with a local ADDY Awards during the 2022 American Advertising Awards (AAA) annual virtual show.

Draper won the Best of Show Student award for “Hade’s”, one of two “Deviant Diner” art and design courses to win gold ADDY awards.

University Marketing received a bronze and two silver awards as the Cape Girardeau chapter of the American Advertising Federation (AAF) recognized the best local advertising creativity.

The Department received an ADDY Silver Award for the redesign of the website and for The Dome newsletter and microsite. The department also received an ADDY Bronze Award for On Campus publication.

AAF has recognized the work of 12 Southeastern student groups in marketing, art and design, and the media, including three golds, a Best of Show Student award, five silvers, and three bronzes.


Institute of New York

Forty-eight medical students from the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine were admitted to the Sigma Sigma Phi department of the medical school, including Sarah Westlake of Bentonville.

Sigma Sigma Phi is a national osteopathic medicine fraternity that honors a fraternity of medical students preparing to become Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine (DO). Members are selected based on outstanding academic achievement, leadership and dedication to service.

Westlake visits NYITCOM-Arkansas.



University of Mississippi Pharmacy student Sarah Green of Eureka Springs recently received the traditional patch on her white coat at a ceremony on the campus of the Jackson Medical Center.

The badge is earned by third-year professional students and marks the completion of coursework and transition to serving patients and communities through clinical rotation during their final year of study. Green will now work as part of a medical team at various pharmacies across the state and region.


Quiz bowl

The 2022 Arkansas Quiz Bowl winners were determined in the state conference finals held at Arkansas PBS. The final position was:

1A – Haas Hall Academy (Rogers) first place; Norfork, runner-up.

2A – Haas Hall Academy (Bentonville) first place; Life Way Christian (Centerton), runner-up.

3A – Mountain View first place; Second place in the center point.

4A – the first place of the Subiaco Academy; Berryville, runner-up.

5A – Batesville first place; Valley View, runner-up.

6A – Russellville, first place; Benton finished second.

7A – Fort Smith, Southside, first place; Second place Rogers.

The Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl Association awarded a $3,000 scholarship to each first-place team and a $1,500 scholarship to each second-place team.

The Quiz Bowl is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been a PBS tradition in Arkansas since 1985.


Send school news to [email protected]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.